As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning For Sale
As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning
Lee, Laurie
Click to view details

Thomas, Dylan - Dylan Thomas: Selected Poems - ( Item 124137 )

Published in London by Folio Society. 2014. First Thus. Fine Hardback. No inscriptions or bookplates. Fine slipcase. Dylan Thomas: Selected Poems. Dylan Thomas. Introduced by Owen Sheers. This edition, published to mark the centenary of Dylan Thomas's birth, includes poems from all five of his collected works, as well as the unfinished, 'Elegy'. Dylan Thomas: Selected Poems. Oh as I was young and easy in the mercy of his means,. Time held me green and dying. Though I sang in my chains like the sea. Dylan Thomas was a true literary star, and Wales's greatest 20th-century poet. During his short life he was internationally celebrated and scrutinised, his fame and lifestyle precursors to the rock and roll excesses of the Beat Generation that followed. But at the heart of this celebrity status was a vast poetic talent. From 193453, Thomas composed some of the most memorable, quoted and cherished verse of the modern era. This edition, published to mark the centenary of Thomas's birth, includes selections from all five of his collected works: 18 Poems,Twentyfive Poems, The Map of Love, Deaths and Entrances and In Country Sleep, plus one further unfinished poem, 'Elegy'. Dylan Thomas: Selected Poems book. Three-quarter bound in cloth with a Modigliani paper side, printed with a photograph of Dylan Thomas lighting a cigarette; by Nora Summers, 1937. (Jeff Towns/Dylans Bookstore Collection, Swansea). Set in Garamond. 160 pages; frontispiece and 6 black & white photographs. Printed endpapers. 9" x 6". Dylan Thomas: A vast poetic talent. Thomas's verse is notoriously hard to define. Less narratively driven than that of his Romantic forebears, his poetry, very personal in style, drew on the natural, tactile rhythms of the Welsh language, the countryside where he grew up, and later the rugged coast around his home, the Boathouse, in the remote fishing village of Laugharne. As poet Owen Sheers writes in his introduction, he was 'instinctive gifted with a natural composer's ear for the emotional penumbra of words'. Each line of verse is alive with Welsh oral tradition, pleading to be read aloud; the poems evoking the cycles of birth and death, both Thomas's own and those of the people he loved. Spanning Thomas's entire career, and containing well-known works such as 'Fern Hill', 'And death shall have no dominion' and 'Do not go gentle into that good night', this Folio edition features endpapers showing his handwritten notes for 'Prologue'. This elliptical poem originally formed the introduction to his 1952 Collected Poems. Black and white photographs of Thomas's life and the landscape that inspired him accompany the text. 'Holding that book in my hands, it feels like something that will last forever.'. LAURIE MUCHNICK, KIRKUS. Poems set to the music of the sea. In the twenty years of his writing life Thomas was many things: a lyric poet, a scriptwriter, an actor, a performer, an author. When I think of him, though, it is as a poet of the sea, and even more specifically of the estuary at Laugharne, below the Boathouse where he lived, and the writing shed in which he wrote. The sea is ever present in Thomas's poetry and so are its tides, pulling and washing through his poetry like a watery metronome. I said at the beginning of this introduction that there is a tendency for admirers of Thomas to leave him after the rush of their first intoxicating encounter. But, like those Carmarthenshire tides, there is an equal tendency to return to him. Because, whatever his faults and excesses, he is a poet who we need to have in our lives. A reminder of the nature of the human condition, stripped bare of intellectual masking. A reminder of the natural world, given voice with suitable drama and strange wonder. And a reminder that poetry has its roots in music, and always will. . An extract from Owen Sheers's introduction. From the Folio Society description.

Price 32.50                 Other items you may like                 Others by the same author

To buy this item online using any major credit or debit card or Paypal, click the appropriate delivery option below to add the item to your basket, depending on where you are in the world. Alternatively please contact us at for further information or to order with payment by direct bank transfer or cheque if you are in the UK.

Safe and Secure Online Buying

To buy online, please click the appropriate postage option in the item boxes above. You will be transferred to secure pages hosted by Paypal, the largest online transaction processor in the world. You can pay with any major credit or debit card or by Paypal. When ordering multiple items in the UK, you may be entitled to a postage discount. This will be refunded when your order is received. If you prefer to pay by cheque, or would like a quotation for buying multiple items, please email us at with the unique item numbers required.

Money Back Guarantee, Secure Packaging and Fast Response

We are a major online trader with excellent feedback from satisfied customers on Amazon and Ebay (over 20,000 customers). We will refund your costs for items returned within seven days for any reason. If we are at fault we will also refund your return postage. Items are sent in top grade book boxes for protection. Large items or multiple purchases may be boxed. Items will be despatched within a day of receipt of your order, usually on the same day if ordered before noon.

[Back to top]

Useful Links

Home Page
Contact Us


Terms and conditions
Delivery information
About Ardis Books


Returns policy
Cancellation policy


Customer services
Email Ardis Books
What our customers say